Limit Break Comics

An Irish Comic Collective


Limit Break Comics to Crowdfund Irish Folklore Comic Anthology – Press Release

Limit Break Comics to Crowdfund Irish Folklore Comic Anthology

February 26th, 2021, Dublin

Dublin based comic collective Limit Break Comics has launched a Kickstarter campaign for its Irish folklore comic anthology, Turning Roads. The book contains stories by over 30 comic creators, retelling Irish myths and legends in modern and future Ireland. The anthology is due for publication in the summer of 2021.

Turning Roads is edited by Paul Carroll, taking a science fiction and modern fantasy approach towards retelling familiar stories. 18 short comics from Irish and international creators address legends including the banshee, the headless horseman, Tír na nÓg, and the Children of Lír. The crowdfunding campaign aims to raise €6,000 before March 28th 2021, with an online focus on Irish folklore planned for St Patrick’s Day.

“By utilising a crowdfunding platform like Kickstarter, we hope to emulate the communal traditions of Irish storytelling in a distinctly modern setting,” says Carroll.

If successfully funded, Turning Roads will join Limit Break Comics’ previous titles, Plexus, Meouch, Life & Death and Mixtape. The showcase of Irish creators in Turning Roads is set to raise awareness of Irish small press comics talent in domestic and international markets.

Limit Break Comics is a Dublin-based comic collective, founded on the back of a shared desire to see small press comics grow in Ireland. It is made up of Paul Carroll, Gareth Luby and Gary Moloney.

# # #

Check out the Kickstarter campaign here:

For more info, email limitbreakireland (at) gmail (dot) com or visit our Contact page.

Contact person: Paul Carroll

Creator list (alphabetical by surname):

Ned Barnett, Fawn Blackwood, Hugo Boylan, David Browne, Jason Browne, Brian Burke, Paul Carroll, David B Cooper, Colin Craker, Richard Davidson, Josh Davison, Dominique Duong, Triona Farrell, David Ferguson, Aaron Fever, Clare Foley, Colm Griffin, Leeann Hamilton, Reese Hannigan, Dave Hendrick, Ember Johnstone, Mark Kielty, James Killian, Alice Leclert, Hugh Madden, Pete Marry, Aisling McGee, Gary Moloney, Emmet O’Brien, Colin O’Mahoney, Mari Rolin, Kerrie Smith, Kato Thaggard, Steven Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *